A Little Ditty about Numbers

I am 23 years old, I have 324 friends on Facebook, 115 followers on Instagram and 12 followers on Twitter.


Numbers.  Isn’t it strange how we focus on the numbers in our lives and, in some way, believe that it is a measurement of our success.

At 23 years old, I’m supposed to have all those big moments nailed down, dream husband, photogenic dog, successful blog and that big job…all in the bag right? Or at least, that’s what social media leads me to believe. Only 324 Facebook friends?  You must be a loner.  115 Instagram followers?  Your life is boring and your camera sucks. 12 twitter followers?  You must not be clever or funny or have anything worth tweeting.  But I am so much more than those numbers.

Don’t let the numbers run your life.  They’re just pixels on a screen, they’re not to be taken seriously.  You are more than this.  Those little numbers mean nothing, social media isn’t real life.  You are real life. I know it’s easy to say but hard to do.  Don’t let those numbers tell you how valuable your life is.   Meow.

Leave a comment